Compare / Zepbound vial vs KwikPen
Zepbound vial vs KwikPen
Same drug, two forms. What each costs and which one Medicare covers.
- Zepbound Single-dose vial: $299 to $449 across 6 strengths, per fill, higher if a refill is more than 45 days late.[1]
- Zepbound KwikPen (multi-dose): $299 to $449 across 6 strengths, per fill, higher if a refill is more than 45 days late.[2]
- Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month for people who qualify): covers Zepbound KwikPen (multi-dose); does not cover Zepbound Single-dose vial.[3][4]
- The self-pay price is the same for the vial and the KwikPen at every strength in the listings.[1][2]
- The FDA label says the multi-dose vials and the single-patient-use KwikPen each contain 4 doses.[5]
Strengths of different drugs are not equivalent doses. The tables below sit side by side; they are not meant to be read row by row across drugs.
Zepbound Single-dose vial
| Strength | Price per fill | Conditions in the official listing | List price (WAC) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5 mg | $299 | — | $1,087 |
| 5 mg | $399 | — | $1,087 |
| 7.5 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $499. | $1,087 |
| 10 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699. | $1,087 |
| 12.5 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699. | $1,087 |
| 15 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699. | $1,087 |
LillyDirect (Eli Lilly self-pay). TrumpRx lists this price for a quantity of 1 and does not state how many days it covers. We have not yet confirmed the supply length on LillyDirect.
Zepbound KwikPen (multi-dose)
| Strength | Price per fill | Conditions in the official listing | List price (WAC) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5 mg | $299 | — | $499 |
| 5 mg | $399 | — | $499 |
| 7.5 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $499. | $499 |
| 10 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699. | $699 |
| 12.5 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699. | $699 |
| 15 mg | $449 | On-time refills. If a refill is more than 45 days after the last one: $699. | $699 |
LillyDirect (Eli Lilly self-pay). TrumpRx lists this price for a quantity of 1 and does not state how many days it covers. We have not yet confirmed the supply length on LillyDirect. The FDA label says each KwikPen contains 4 doses and Zepbound is injected once weekly.
From the FDA labels
Zepbound
FDA-approved uses · label 1
ZEPBOUND® is indicated in combination with a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity:
- to reduce excess body weight and maintain weight reduction long term in adults with obesity or adults with overweight in the presence of at least one weight-related comorbid condition.
- to treat moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) in adults with obesity.
Limitations of Use
ZEPBOUND contains tirzepatide. Coadministration with other tirzepatide-containing products or with any glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist is not recommended.
Dosage forms and strengths · label 3
Injection: Clear, colorless to slightly yellow solution in pre-filled single-dose pens, single-dose vials, multi-dose vials, or single-patient-use KwikPens, each available in the following strengths. The multi-dose vials and single-patient-use KwikPen each contain 4 doses:
| Single-dose Pen or Vial |
| 2.5 mg/0.5 mL |
| 5 mg/0.5 mL |
| 7.5 mg/0.5 mL |
| 10 mg/0.5 mL |
| 12.5 mg/0.5 mL |
| 15 mg/0.5 mL |
| Multi-dose Vial (4 doses per vial) | ||
| Dose per Injection | Total Strength per Total Volume | Strength per mL |
| 2.5 mg/0.6 mL | 10 mg/2.4 mL | 4.17 mg/mL |
| 5 mg/0.6 mL | 20 mg/2.4 mL | 8.33 mg/mL |
| 7.5 mg/0.6 mL | 30 mg/2.4 mL | 12.5 mg/mL |
| 10 mg/0.6 mL | 40 mg/2.4 mL | 16.7 mg/mL |
| 12.5 mg/0.6 mL | 50 mg/2.4 mL | 20.8 mg/mL |
| 15 mg/0.6 mL | 60 mg/2.4 mL | 25 mg/mL |
| Single-Patient-Use KwikPen (4 doses per KwikPen) | ||
| Dose per Injection | Total Strength per Total Volume | Strength per mL |
| 2.5 mg | 10 mg/2.4 mL | 4.17 mg/mL |
| 5 mg | 20 mg/2.4 mL | 8.33 mg/mL |
| 7.5 mg | 30 mg/2.4 mL | 12.5 mg/mL |
| 10 mg | 40 mg/2.4 mL | 16.7 mg/mL |
| 12.5 mg | 50 mg/2.4 mL | 20.8 mg/mL |
| 15 mg | 60 mg/2.4 mL | 25 mg/mL |
Which drug, which dose, and whether to start, stop or switch are medical decisions. Ask your doctor or pharmacist.
Official sources for this page
“*Eligibility required, terms and conditions apply. Review full terms and conditions.”
TrumpRx.gov: Zepbound Single-dose vial listing · as of Oct 17, 2026“*Eligibility required, terms and conditions apply. Review full terms and conditions.”
TrumpRx.gov: Zepbound KwikPen (multi-dose) listing · as of Oct 17, 2026“Starting July 1, 2026, Medicare covers these GLP-1 drugs: Foundayo® (tablet) Wegovy® (injection or tablet) Zepbound® (KwikPen® only. The program doesn’t cover single-dose Zepbound® vials or pens).”
Medicare.gov: Weight loss drugs · as of Oct 17, 2026“You’ll pay a $50 copayment to the pharmacy for a one-month supply (either 28 or 30 days, depending on drug).”
Medicare.gov: Weight loss drugs · as of Oct 17, 2026- FDA label (DailyMed), §3 DOSAGE FORMS AND STRENGTHS, version 40 (Sep 02, 2026) · as of Oct 17, 2026